Experiment with the MPU-6050

Hello,

I am new to electronics and recently purchased an MPU-6050 with its ARM and evoluation boards. My final purpose is to get real time gyroscope/accelerometer data sent over Bluetooth. I come to you asking to be kicked in the right direction:

• Is there an Arduino board for this?
  • What’s the preferred way to provide power supply for testing? What else do I need to get assuming I have nothing else but the boards and an USB cable?
  • If I want it to be very small and work on batteries, should I work on my own board or contact a specialized manufacturer?

This is a small project that could become very important to me, I need to bootstrap it alone in order to produce a proof of concept, anyone interested and knowledgeable in electronics is welcomed to contact me!

Thanks a lot!

1. the MPU-6050 uses I2C to talk with micro controllers. It should be possible to use every standard Arduino for that. Check the datasheets/docs of your.... MPU-6050-board though, it does have a lot of pins for just I2C. If the second chip on your sensorboard is a small microcontroller, it might use another way of talking with the main board. Do you have links with more info about both boards ?

2. Apparently the sensor can be configured to work with 3.3 and 5 volt devices. If... it uses I2C you would only need 2 pullup-resistors (5k-10Kohm) and wire.

3. The boards are quite big by themselves, you can buy smaller sensor boards as well. Arduinos come in different sizes and is open source, loads of clones exist and for some it's a sport to build the tiniest boards.

You can design your own board as well, but building it may... be quite hard. The tinier the components, the more skills are needed to solder them by hand.