"Explosion simulator", play sound and flash

I want to build a device to simulate a mineshaft blasting / explosion, for an exhibit about mining.
User presses a button (in a later stage perhaps works a cartoonesque plunger), and an explosion sound is played through some loud subwoofer system and a light flash is triggered.

What are the suggestions for hardware logic to simultaneously let a flash go off and play a recorded explosion file?
Any suggestions regarding how to easily hook up a flash? One way could be hooking up to a photography flash, or somekind of disco strobelight device (cut / enable power to it)?

Edit: this would be my first Arduino project. I have some Raspberry experience, but that's it.
Besides basic wiring I have very little electrical engineering experience.

Hm ... a bit black powder would do the trick.

You could look at flashing a largish Led - eg a car headlamp sized bulb - you could get some varying multiple flashes with that .
Switch from an analog( pwm) output via a mosfet ?

For sound I’d investigate the MP3 shields

A DFPlayer Mini is cheap and easy to use. Record the explosion in mp3 format onto a micro-sd card, along with any other sounds you need, like warning alarm sounds, countdown etc and the player can initiate the sound effects when commanded by the Arduino. For testing purposes, the player can drive a small speaker directly. For installation, it also has line-level outputs to connect to a more powerful amplifier and speaker(s).

• Black powder: this is indoors, so it won’t work :slight_smile:
    Otherwise I would certainly be happy to look into a bank of firecrackers & electric fuses for outdoor use!

• DFPlayer looks simple, thanks!

• I’ve found some sound activated disco-stroboscopes (people use them to flash on the beat of the music). If that could work it could probably be the simplest.
    Are there otherwise ways to drive a power relay from Arduino? We’re talking LED strobes which might use 50mA @ 230V.