Exponent in Equation, Help!

Hi! Total noob to programming here. I am trying to solve this problem and I am stuck on a line of code. I will bold this line so it can be seen more easily. It is the exponent at the end that I believe is the problem. I am getting the error message: expected ')' before ';' token

The calibration formula for a particular thermistor is  T= 1 / a1 + a2LogRt + a3(LogRt)^3

where Rt is the resistance of the thermistor in ohm, and the calibration constants are a1 = 1.009250 x 10–3, a2 = 2.378405 x 10–4 and a3 = 2.019203 x 10–7. The log(x) function returns the natural logarithm of x. Write the Arduino code to evaluate T for Rt = 15 kΩ. What is T for Rt = 15 kΩ. Your solution should involve definitions for the variables, a1, a2, a3, Rt and T. In other words, define Arduino variables for all symbols that appear in the equation for T, and then use those variables to write an Arduino expression for T.

Here is my code:

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600); //data rate 9600 bps

Serial.println("Thermistor Temperature Measurement"); Serial.println("\n Vo Rt T"); }

void loop() { int ThermistorPin = 1; int Vo; float logRt,Rt,T; float a1 = 1.009250e-03, a2 = 2.378405e-04, a3 = 2.019203e-07;

Vo = analogRead(ThermistorPin); Rt = 15000;

T = ( 1/( a1 + a2*log10(Rt) + a3*pow(log10(Rt),3) );

Serial.print(" "); Serial.print(Vo); Serial.print(" "); Serial.print(Rt); Serial.print(" "); Serial.println(T); delay(200);

}

Would appreciate any help. Thank you!

T = ( 1/( a1 + a2*log10(Rt) + a3*pow(log10(Rt),3) );

Carefully count the opening and closing parenthesis in that statement.

You seem to be asking how to calculate n to the third, right? While pow() can work, it is a wasteful function for calculating n * n * n.

I’m trying to cube a3(LogRt). I was told by a tutor to write a3(LogRt)^3 but I don’t believe that is correct…

emily25:
I’m trying to cube a3(LogRt). I was told by a tutor to write a3(LogRt)^3 but I don’t believe that is correct…