Extending the usb cable for arduino using usb-ethernet adapter?

Hi there!

So I am a high school student whose trying to build a underwater ROV using Arduino UNO. My question is that is it possible for me to connect the arduino board to my laptop by using ethernet cable and usb-ethernet adapter.

The setup is somthing like this:
Arduino UNO → usb cable provided → usb-ethernet adapter → 50m of ethernet cable → ethernet-usb adapter → laptop

Currently im still facing with an issue with my laptop where it wouldn’t recognize my usb-ethernet adapter but i’m just trying to get a head start on the this exact problem that i’ll probably face when i manage to solve the prior issue.

I do know of the existence of an ethernet shield. But for some complicated issues with the amount of space i have inside of my ROV i am trying to avoid to use it since it would take up to double the space if i were to add a ethernet shield.

Would really appreciate it if i can get some advice from any of you with similar experience here, cheers!

tl;dr : can i extend the usb cable from arduino uno with ethernet cable by using usb-ethernet adapter on both ends of the ethernet cable?

dr : can i extend the usb cable from arduino uno with ethernet cable by using usb-ethernet adapter on both ends of the ethernet cable?

No.

A USB to Ethernet cable is designed for a USB host to be connected to it. So using two would at least require a Host shield on the Arduino at the distant end.

You can fit a Pro Mini and an Ethernet module in a smaller space than the Uno alone. The W5500 modules are available in an especially small form factor that will plug into a board nicely:

But even if you get the more standard Ethernet module, it will still be smaller than Uno.

Another option is the MKR ZERO and MKR ETH Shield, which will also be smaller than the Uno.

Why a second Ethernet-USB converter? Doesn’t your laptop have an Ethernet connector? Then an Ethernet module can be used directly at the Arduino side.