External Interrupt question

Hello.

I am trying playing with external interrupts as i am new to this.

The sketch i wrote is atached.

I choosed to call the “react” function with atachinterrupt at a falling edge, so when i press the button and pin 2 goes from 5 volt to 0 volt
and println “tttttttttttttttttttttttt”.

But when i depress the button the function “react” is called again, now when pin 2 goes from 0 volt to 5 volt.

Why?

Thanks.

interrupt_experience.ino (641 Bytes)

The button is probably bouncing a few times on release: open,closed,open,closed. You have to release the button within 1/2 second of pressing it or the bounce will look like another press.

volatile long  val;
volatile long  val2;

int botao =2;

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600);
while(!Serial){;};
  //LED output
  pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
  //switch input
  pinMode(2,INPUT);

//set the pull-up on the switch
  digitalWrite(2,HIGH);

attachInterrupt(1,react,FALLING);  
}

void loop()
{
Serial.println("Your reaction time: ");
delay (3000);
digitalWrite(13,LOW);

}

void react()
{
  val2=millis();

if (val2-val>500)
  {
  digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
  //millis();
  //long fin = millis();

//detachInterrupt(0);

Serial.println("Led 13 turned on ");
  //Serial.println(millis());
//detachInterrupt(1);
}
val=val2;
}

I dont think you can use millis inside interrupts

from reference:

Inside the attached function, delay() won't work and the value returned by millis() will not increment. Serial data received while in the function may be lost. You should declare as volatile any variables that you modify within the attached funct

I dont think you can use millis inside interrupts