External interrupts... for newbs

Hi guys,

OK, total newb to the more low-level stuff here - is there any EASY way to understand interrupts beyond the two provided in the IDE? I've been searching google, avr-libc home page, and the forums.. but something just isn't clicking for me.

How does INT0/INT1 get mapped to specific pins? I see references to ISR() functions (macros?) in the avr-libc manual pages, as well as setting the PCMSK1 registers, PDx, etc, etc.

Essentially, what I'm trying to do is generate an interrupt on a button press attached to a pin. Should be fairly simple, I've even seen code examples to do this complete with a software debounce (which is good, i'm on a limited budget) but I don't want to just copy & paste code. I want to understand it!

Is there a simple tutorial out there that explains how to map interrupts to specific pins?

The hardware aspect of an interrupt pin is this: an input to particular pin (designed as a hardware interrupt input) can cause a particular function to be called when a particular input occurs. There are control registers (special memory locations) that set the trigger (our choices are rising edge, falling edge, change, and low). Once this trigger is tripped the function (called an interrupt service routine, or ISR) is called. There is also a setting to enable or disable the interrupt, and a place to store the address of the function that services the interrupt. The three parameters passed to attachInterrupt() set all this up for us. attachInterrupt() in turn calls the macros and makes the appropriate control register settings.

The software aspect of an interrupt is basically a function that gets called by hardware rather than program control. When you call a function such as serial.read() you pass control to the function by calling it, but with an interrupt control is passed to an ISR by the electrical inputs on the interrupt pin.