External Power Supply Matrix

Hi all, I'm trying to create a matrix of banks of led's. These banks of led's are 6 led's hooked up anode to cathode that use up 2 volts per Led (12v per bank) with a 1ohm resistor at the end of the bank.

Now I can't use the Arduino to supply the voltage, but I can use it to switch the matrix on and off. I'm using an NPN transistor at the ground end of the bank, but I do not know what transistor to use at the source of the bank to do the on/off switching. I've tried a few things, I even blew out my port #3 because of the 12v going to that pin oops!!! :o

Can someone please help me solve this problem I'm having (I'm new to electronics and just want to tinker around).

I hope this all made sense.

Thanks in advance.

Gilles

You'd only really need the transistor at one place in the circuit. Since current only flows when there is a complete path, one break is enough to prevent it moving.... The short answer is that it should work with only your NPN transistor before ground.

... Just make sure you connect your arduino pin to base, and connect both grounds. (:

The thing is I want to create a matrix out of these banks. I have 44 banks all together and I want to create a matrix of 4x11 (something like that) and use the code provided in the sample (direct drive 8x8 matrix). I'm sure you know that a Matrix is controlled by both the start of the path and the end of the path.

Thanks,

Gilles

hmmmm, what about using one of those ic's that are shift registers... I'm not sure how many volts you can pump into these babies, but you might be able to get away with inputing 12v total to make your led's shine brightly...

the arduino only sends it directions, you don't need to hook up the arduino power and ground to it, i believe external voltages can be given to it, this way you can control multiple outputs with the correct voltages!

I just checked the Max7219 and it can only supply 6v, only half of what I need.