Extracting data from text strings

I'm new to Arduino, recently picked up an RFduino, Arduino Uno, and a GPRS Seeeduino shield. I'm working with the Seeeduino right now to read text strings and act accordingly. IE: I want to text my device and make it do something. For this I need to chop down the SMS text to get just the guts of the message. I've looked into the reference pages on the String Trim/Length functions but neither seem to be what I'm looking for. I'm familiar with Visual Basic programming where I can easily use mid/last functions to get what I need. Is there something simple in Arduino that I'm missing?

Guidance is appreciated!

Thanks, Justin

Avoid string classes because they have issues. You will need to learn to use traditional c-style arrays of char. If you want functions like visual basic, you will need to implement them yourself, or I am sure somehow has done so already if you look around.

Post a few sample messages so we know the format.

The Strings object has an indexOf() function and substring() functions to allow for parsing of strings and breaking them up into their various parts. I built a standardised ExtractNextDelimitedField() function to parse comma, tab and other delimited strings into their field-by-field parts.

Ignore adverse comments about the Strings object - past problems have been fixed and the Strings class now works correctly just like in other languages.

That said you would be wise to understand and manage your use of the Strings class and the effect of concatenating multiple fields into one long string - and vice-versa - stripping individual fields off a string that gets shorter and shorten until you have processed all the fields. These operations can fragment heap memory but my application experience is that free heap memory is managed well enough and does not get increasingly fragmented the longer your application runs.