fade effect - 2 push buttons

Hi. Newbie here! Can you please help me up with this very tiny project?
What i want to do is to fade low to high and high to low an led using 2 pushbutons very slowly and when i release the button to stay in that state. I have all on my breadboard but i have no clue how to do this. Tomorrow i want to present it to my teacher. Yesterday i got an arduino, and what can i do is to light the led with a pushbutton. Thank you so much!

const byte LED_PIN = 13;
const byte UP_BUTTON_PIN = 2;  // Connect button between pin and Ground
const byte DOWN_BUTTON_PIN = 3;  // Connect button between pin and Ground

byte brightness = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(LED_PIN, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(UP_BUTTON_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(DOWN_BUTTON_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void loop() {
  if (digitalRead(UP_BUTTON_PIN) == LOW  && brightness < 255)
    brightness++;
  if (digitalRead(DOWN_BUTTON_PIN) == LOW  && brightness > 0)
    brightness--;
  analogWrite(LED_PIN, brightness);
  delay(20);  // About 5 seconds from full off to full on
}

Should i use 10k resistor like the man in this video does?

Do i short it out if i connect it directly? I don't quite understand how digitalRead is done. Is there any current flow from the pin 2 and 3 when i'm reading from? If there's now current flowing from pin 2 and 3 through the ground, why did he use 10k resistor and didn't just simply connect it directly?

And why do we need to connect it to the ground as long as just the +5v matters? How about pushbuttons with only 2 leads?

The best & normal way is just as johnwasser shows you in reply #1. You don't connect the button to +5v, just connect the buttons between pins 2 & 3 & ground. johnwasser's code is looking for a ground on pin2 or 3 when the button is pressed. The code in setup()

pinMode(UP_BUTTON_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP); 
pinMode(DOWN_BUTTON_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP);

uses INPUT_PULLUP to use a resistance internal to the chip that makes pin 2 & 3 +5V when the button is not closed.