Fade up to flicker effect

I'm rather new to arduinos and am having trouble wrapping my head around the fade codes.

Basically what I'm trying to do is create a simulated trashcan fire using MOSFETs and 12v lights. I'd like for the lights to fade up on a button push, and once they get to a certain level to just remain on and flicker. I've got the flicker portion down from some candles for a previous project. Here's the code I'm working with.

(NOTE: If you know of a better way of getting this effect I'm open to suggestions, but it HAS to fade up on a button push and stay on)

const int buttonPin = 2;  
int LED_Pin5 = 5;  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 8
int LED_Pin6 = 9;  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 5
int LED_Pin7 = 10;  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 6
int LED_Pin8 = 6;  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 7

int howBright5;   // Intensity of the LED: [0 = Off], [255 = Brightly Lit] 
int howBright8; 
int howBright7;
int howBright6;
int buttonState = 0; 

void setup()
{ 
  pinMode(LED_Pin5, OUTPUT);  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 8
  pinMode(LED_Pin8, OUTPUT);  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 5
  pinMode(LED_Pin7, OUTPUT);  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 6
  pinMode(LED_Pin6, OUTPUT);  // ATTiny44 PWM Pin 7

// initialize the pushbutton pin as an input:
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);     
}
void loop() 
{ 
   buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

// check if the pushbutton is pressed.
  // if it is, the buttonState is HIGH:
  if (buttonState == LOW) {     
    // turn LED on:    
    digitalWrite(LED_Pin5, LOW);
    digitalWrite(LED_Pin6, LOW);
    digitalWrite(LED_Pin7, LOW);
    digitalWrite(LED_Pin8, LOW);
  } 
  else {
    // turn LED off:

howBright5 = random(1,25);     // Change brightness to something between 1 and 255 
  howBright8 = random(1,35);
  howBright7 = random(1,55);
  howBright6 = random(1,65);

analogWrite(LED_Pin5, howBright5); // Illuminate the LED with the brightness picked 
  delay(random(1,14));           // Makes LED seem to flicker when on for a random time