Fade without delay?

Hello, I am somewhat new to arduino and I have run into a problem that seems like it would be easier to solve than it actually is…

What I want to create is an LED that fades in and out with different rates depending on the value of the potentiometer, however, if the potentiometers’ value is 0, the LED should be shut off, if the value is maxed out the LED should be lit constantly.

Seemed simple enough so I tried to code it but ran into some problems with delay() causing bugs, I tried to use millis() instead but couldn’t figure it out, I also googled and searched the forum without any luck…

Here is my code, how can I make it work without delay()?

int led = 3;
int pot = A0;
int potval;
int fadeValue;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pot, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  potval = map(analogRead(pot), 0, 1023, 0, 22);
  Serial.print("potval: ");
  Serial.println(potval);

if (potval == 0) {
    // if potval == 0, turn the led off
    digitalWrite(led, 0);
  } else if (potval >= 21) {
    // if potval is >= 21, keep the led on
    digitalWrite(led, 255);
  }

if (potval > 0 && potval < 21) {
    for (fadeValue = 0 ; fadeValue <= 255; fadeValue += potval) {
      analogWrite(led, fadeValue);
      delay(40);
    }

for (fadeValue = 255 ; fadeValue >= 0; fadeValue -= potval) {
      analogWrite(led, fadeValue);
      delay(40);
    }
  }
}

Thanks in advance.

You need to tell us how it is currently behaving. But I think I see the dreaded for loops, that is always a bad sign. Also delay() mixed with millis(), very bad.

aarg:
You need to tell us how it is currently behaving. But I think I see the dreaded for loops, that is always a bad sign.

Why are the for loops dreaded?

The problems I'm facing with using delay() is that if I turn the LED on again after being shut off the first fade cycle will be very slow because the potentiometer value wont be able to get higher than 1.