Failing to use the/control motors with Arduino Due. Full details inside.

Note: I am completely new with Arduino. Don't be too harsh if I am being stupid!

Let's start from the start. I am trying to control motors with an Arduino and a WiiMote. At first, I bought an Arduino Uno, the Adafruit v1 motor controller shield and the USB host shield (with bluetooth dongle). I downloaded the newest IDE and the Motor Shield Library, the Wii Library and the Host shield Library. So at first I tried moving a motor with the motor board and it worked (perfect!). Then I tried to connect with the WiiMote and failed (not so perfect). After a bit of research, I found that bluetooth dongles don't work with the Uno for reasons I don't understand. As a result, I bought a Due and tried to control a motor with it and failed. I got this error message:

AF_DCMotor(uint8_t motornum, uint8_t freq = DC_MOTOR_PWM_RATE);
                                               ^
MotorTest:7: error: call to 'AF_DCMotor::AF_DCMotor(uint8_t, uint8_t)' uses the default argument for parameter 2, which is not yet defined
 AF_DCMotor motor(4);
                   ^
exit status 1
call to 'AF_DCMotor::AF_DCMotor(uint8_t, uint8_t)' uses the default argument for parameter 2, which is not yet defined

After frustration, I did a bit more research and found that it may be a problem with the IDE. So I downloaded the 1.0.6 version and tried it again but got this:

avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

After more research (yay!) I found that this is a common issue, however after trying many different get-arounds (I tried installing a boot loader with my Uno) but failed. Any help is appreciated!