fan controlled by temperature

Hi,

I am creating a project where a fan will start at a certain temperature. if the temperature is below the min temp i want a green led to light up and fan to not run, then between the min temp and max temp i want a orange led to light up and the fan to start and reach 50% fan speed. when max temp is reached i want a red led to light up and 100% fan speed to be reached.

when i download my code the fan starts automatically even though the temp is below temp min and the red led lights up, not the green led which is supposed to be alight.

I am very new to arduino and only know the basics so I think its just something simple which is causing this to happen but i have tried to resolve it many times but still cant work it out.

Here is my code, if you can see why this would not work that would be a great help.

Thank you

//code from scratch

int pos = 0;                            
int sensorPin = A1;                      //temp sensor
int reading = 0;                         //read temp
int fan = 11;                            //fan
int ledgreen = 8;                        //green led
int ledorange = 7;                       //orange led
int ledred = 5;                          //red led
int tempMin = 10;                        //temp fan starts
int tempMax = 35;                        //temp fan reaches max speed
int fanSpeed;

float voltage = 0;                        //convert temp
float temperatureC = 0;                   //convert temp
float temperatureF = 0;                   //convert temp

void setup()  {
  pinMode(sensorPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(fan, OUTPUT); 
  pinMode(ledgreen, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledorange, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledred, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()  {

if(temperatureC<tempMin){                           //if temp is below temp min turn everything off but green led
    digitalWrite(fan, LOW);
    digitalWrite(ledgreen, HIGH);                     
    digitalWrite(ledorange, LOW);