FastLED Chase Sequence with Multiple Colors (3) WS2812 LED Strip

Hello everyone and thank you for reading my post

I am new to arduino, thought i have done some programming in the past.
I have done a great deal through the years with Motorola/Free scale micro controllers using assembly language

I have been toying with the FASTLED library and i have found it to be pretty awesome so far. but i have hit a road block and i was hoping to get some direction.

What i am looking to do is, take a strip of 50 LEDS. i want to make the LEDs 3 colors: Red, Green, and White. I would like to have these colors chase eachother on the strip of LEDS.

i have come up with one way to do it, however it is not very elegant. (See the attached file (R_W_G_1-5-2020) it takes alot of memory, and doesn’t make it easy to modify or change anything

I have also been experimenting with some of the “theater chase” programs i have found. I have attached one here. (Chase_Lights_Single_Color) This seems like a much more elegant solution which requires less memory. I was hoping someone could give me a tip or two on how to add more colors to the chase lights sketch, or a whole new way to look at this possible.

I am sure there is a way to use the chase lights sketch but i cannot figure it out.

Thank you all for your time and input

R_W_G_1-5-2020.ino (4.97 KB)

Chase_Lighs_Single_Color.ino (636 Bytes)

One thing at a time.
(I started programming in assembler on 6502 and 8080 processors).

On your “crude” sketch, I rewrote it to use a loop to set the LEDs:

#include "FastLED.h"
#define NUM_LEDS 50
#define DATA_PIN 3
#define BRIGHTNESS 12
#define NUM_COLORS 3

CRGB leds[NUM_LEDS];
int j = 0;        // Starting color number
CRGB myColors[] = {CRGB::Red, CRGB::White, CRGB::Green};

void setup() {
  FastLED.addLeds<WS2812B, DATA_PIN, GRB>(leds, NUM_LEDS);
  FastLED.setBrightness( BRIGHTNESS );
  FastLED.clear ();
}

void loop() {
  for (int i = 0; i <= NUM_LEDS; i++) {