father son project - BT rc car

My kid is obsessed with electronics and building stuff. So i thought it would be cool to build a rc car with him and use a tablet as the controller. Ive seen controller apps on the play store that are for bluetooth arduinos.

However, im completely new to this, but do have a basic understanding of electonics (from research on building a battlebot when i was a teen). I think though, if someone could point me in the right direction, i could figure most of it out. I would like something expandable so we could add things to the car... like an airsoft turret something down the road.

i know ill need a board, not sure which
the bluetooth module
a car chasse (found a cool looking track one with motors online)
motor contoller

I have seen the models you mentioned, they are sold as complete units .

Im not aware of any boards made specifically for self build.

I have been looking for a while and would be delighted to be proved wrong with a suitable link.

The apps generally are designed for a specific manufacturers model.

While a bluetooth equipped arduino would work , you will still have to hack or build the phone app to make it work.

It could be frustrating for a youngster.

2 ch radios are not that dear, you could try a traditional build with the future possibility of developing a tablet control.

the apps i was looking at were more like bluetooth game pad apps that i figured i could map the commands from the app to run the motors in the car

Im fairly sure i can figure out the software side of it, its just the hardware side im a bit in the dark about.

I also got to thinking, that it might bi cool to be able to add sensors down the road and make it autonomous, and still be able to flash it back to manual when we want to jsut play around with it.

ive got most of the hardware mapped out and already have a mega board that im playing around with (picked up a sunfounder super starter pack)