Feasability: "disabling" a pushbutton while code is running

Hi to all.

I am a newbie on Arduino but I already did the tutorials, so the basics are there, hopefully.

I have a couple of push buttons that execute code, like rotate servos, change LEDs, ...

Now I want to join them in one single project.

Before starting I would like to know the better way to "disable" a push button while the code is being executed.
I do not want to be possible to press again the same button while the code for that button is being executed, but I want to be able to press another button and execute another code.

Can you understand what I want? Is this possible?

Thanks in advance.
Filipe Almeida

Just dont check the state (change) of that particular button then?

Before starting I would like to know the better way to "disable" a push button while the code is being executed.

Make reading the button state dependant on a boolean. Change the state of the boolean to enable/disable reading the state of the button.

Hi again

xl97:
Just dont check the state (change) of that particular button then?

But I have to to be constantly checking for a button press to execute the code.
Sorry, it may be trivial but I do not understand.

UKHeliBob:
Make reading the button state dependant on a boolean. Change the state of the boolean to enable/disable reading the state of the button.

So, for example, in the code of the button press I insert an if statement checking "actionstarted == False" and then inside I update "actionstarted = True". Then comes the stuff to be executed and in the end of the code I update again "actionstarted = False". Similar to debouncing using millis()

Can be something like this?

Thanks for the help.
Filipe Almeida

Can be something like this?

Try things out to see what happens.

FilipeAlmeida: