Feasability information - WIfi status light

Hello..

I am an absolute complete beginner who doesn't even own an Arduino, but with your help, I think I might be able to use one for a project.

I help maintain a Wifi access point in a neighboring apartment. This means that from time to time, the access point needs to be physically restarted, or the cables need to be put back in, if someone has been playing with it.

I have a different wifi network in my department, but I can connect to the (slower) other connection..

I have no indication in my apartment that the other wifi is currently working, unless I take the time to disconnect from my wifi, log in to the other one, and test it. My only other indicator is the neighbor, (my customer) banging on my door at all hours, asking me to fix it again..

I am looking for a very inexpensive system that can connect to the other Wifi, and tun on some kind of nice big 12 or 240 volt LED to indicate connectivity, and then to turn that light off if the wifi is not working.

This way, I can just walk into a room in my house, and know absolutely if the wifi is working in the other apartment or not.

Is an Arduino suitable for this task, or is there a better solution?

Please indicate level of programming experience (I have absolutely NONE) estimated hardware costs, and feasibility..

And my MANY MANY thanks for your time in responding to a complete beginner.

Obviously you are not referring to a router, so what exactly are you calling a WIFI access point? And to you have some technical information that might help in find a solution to your problem.

Paul

You can configre your accesspoint to restart every X hours. And you can make a program that scans dor the WiFi BSSID and signals if it's absent. You can do thos for your Notebook (if it's linux, is just 10 lines of bash code including comments) or you can use a ESP8266 / ESP32 and use some more lines of code for it.

Paul_KD7HB: