Feasibility - am I going down the wrong route?

Hi,
From the outset I declare that I am an absolute newbie to both forums and programming (at least until a couple of weeks ago!).

I spent a couple of weeks writing an application in Visual Studio using VB Forms for Windows - the application sent instructions to a proprietary board (PIC) using the again proprietary .dll library to communicate via USB to the board.

However, the supplier will not give any details about the hardware or the code in the library so I would be totally dependant on him for maintenance of any kind e.g. hardware failure or as now happens the drivers for the board will not work with Win8.

I therefore decided to look into using the Arduino as my hardware - this is where I now need to understand if I am wasting my time or not.

Essentially, what I am trying to do is run an application on my p.c. (Windows 8, 64 bit) which performs a significant number of calculations and then instructs a stepper motor to move a certain number of steps at a defined speed, delay for a defined period, fire a camera shutter, further delay etc. etc. - the p.c. application will ‘loop’ this instruction until the total number of calculated steps and shutter actuations have completed. There are other controls on the p.c. e.g. Pause, Resume, Abort, Return the motor to a Home position.

I appreciate I could perform some of these steps using the Arduino sketch only - but I would need user interaction in defining / inputting the Speed, Number of Steps between each shutter release, Delay period, etc etc.but I still need the p.c. to collate / store the images taken by the camera and perform many related calculations.