Feasibility and Product Selection Advice Required For Hardware in the Loop Model

Hi,
I am new to the Arduino ecosystem, and unsure what products to buy to create the system I am aiming for.
I have attached a very rough sketch of the system I am trying to create…
I am dynamically modelling a wind driven car in Simulink. I am powering the car via a motor, which is run by a Arduino. This motor needs to wirelessly connect to the Simulink program on the computer.
I am also producing the resistive forces produced by the wind turbines by attaching a wire to the chasis of the car. The rate at which the wire is released (modelling the resistive forces) is controlled by another motor, run by an Arduino, which is again connected wirelessly to a Simulink program.
I have done quite a lot of research, but I would like some more experienced opinions on component selection and project feasibility.
From what I understand, I need two Arduino Leonardo boards, both with motor and wireless shields, with Xbee wireless transmitters. I also need two external power supplies for the motors (9v batteries…?).
As well as sending the Simulink program information to each Arduino, I also need them to transmit system information back to the computer (such as motor position, current drawn ect…), so this is two way communication.
If possible I would also like to attach a strain gauge (not shown on diagram) between the vehicle chassis and the wire, and send this information through the Arduino on the car, back to the computer.
I would like to know;
A - is this feasible
B - have I chosen the best Arduino board for this design
C - which is the best Xbee module for this design
D - what sort of sampling rate could I expect for this design…
E - what is the best way of connecting the Xbee modules to the computer (is a XBee Explorer Dongle the easiest answer?)
F - what kind of motors should I be looking out to make this possible…