Feasibility - can you record the movement of a model glider through the air?

Hi, I am a complete novice so this question is entirely conceptual.

I would like to track the movement of an object. Not where the object is in the world, just how the object moves relative to a baseline position. It will move forward, perhaps 25 feet before stopping but with rotation and altitude changes of relatively small degree, say from 3/4 inch to 5 inches.

I found a sensor that has a 9-axis accelerometer, magnetometer and a gyroscope, which is what I think is needed (NB I am a complete novice).

Has anyone had programming experience that suggests this idea is possible? I've had around 8 conversations with unis, electronic shops, and Intel (!), and the consensus was 'maybe but you'd need programming to adjust for the error that develops the longer it travels.

Any insights or links to things to read much appreciated.

Thanks.

Most important, do you want to record the movement from inside the glider, or from outside, or both? Good results most probably require a combination of both methods.

Just to explain the problems of on board data acquisition: imagine you are the pilot or a passenger, and want to determine the the movement with closed eyes. Your feelings correspond to the information obtained from a 9DOF (accel+gyro) sensor. Then it will be almost impossible to determine the height, speed and heading of the glider, you'll only notice a shock (acceleration) on start and on touch down, and nothing special in between. In math terms the initial acceleration can be integrated into a speed, which again can be integrated over time into a distance. Even the smallest error in the acceleration will result in a wrong speed and distance computation. The same for the height, where a small decrease of gravity (Z axis) will indicate a constant loss of height. All that only for a straight flight route, with no curves and no wind affecting the speed and heading.