Feasibility for fractional duty cycle 2MHz PWM

I require very short on times (1 to 10 NANO-seconds) as a minimum range.
1-2 MHz max speeds, so that equates to .1-.2% duty cycles. Just inquiring
if the mighty Arduino can handle these speeds and duty cycles. TI has no
definite answers for me, but the Arduino folks seem to be more flexible
and the devices easier to program.
TOTAL NOOB in the MCU arena, but long time electrical tinkerer.

Robert

PS: This is for an un-patented, unprotected device so please do not expect full disclosure.
I am quite sure of the speeds and duty cycle, I just need to know IF and HOW. TIA!

Nope. The clock frequency is 16 MHz (20 MHz max on some models) which means the fastest anything can happen is 1/16 MHz = 62.5 nanoseconds.

A 1ns resolution implies that the processor has a clock frequency of 1 GHz. You're looking at custom hardware or something a lot "bigger" than an Arduino.

--
The QuadRAM shield: add 512 kilobytes of external RAM to your Arduino Mega/Mega2560

not sure I understand the requirement
do you just want a HIGH (or maybe LOW) for 1 to 10 nS
with a max prf of 2 MHz?

if so would a programmable monostable do the trick
you could control that from a 'duino

Wow! FAST Reply!

So suppose that I can live with a 62.5 nSec ON time, is it still possible
to have a fractional duty cycle of less than 1% and how would I figure
out what I can manipulate the Arduino to produce?

You can have practically any duty cycle you want as long as the on-time is no shorter than 62.5ns, and the period is an integer multiple of the on-time.

For example, you can configure the 16-bit Timer 1 for a period of 10000 counts at maximum frequency (16 MHz). Then, you can set the output compare register OCR1A to any value between 0 to 10000 to set the duty cycle. Each increment of OCR1A represents 1/10000 of the total period, or 0.01% duty cycle resolution. The frequency will be 16MHz/10000 = 1.6 kHz.