Feasibility: Moving targets DC Motor control w remote

I am planning on making a small wire pull system for moving air rifle target in my garage. Looking to control speed, direction, delay between cycles, and length of pull, preferably with remote. The entire project will be fitted within a plastic casing, with only a pulley wheel and on/off switch protruding from it.

I want it to start, travel a certain distance in controlled speed, stop, delay x seconds, return to start, and repeat.

Since this is my first project, I think I am going to make 2 iterations:

1. Simple on/off control, and programming done in the coding only. The pull system will only follow the preset program. (1)

2. Control using remote for on/off, and speed "settings". Perhaps most practical to code preset programs than being able to control details with remote. (2)

The plan is to simply strip an USB cable and use 5V USB to a phone charger adapter, alternative is 9V converter and a 9V power input?

From my extremely limited experience, this is what I am planning on buying:

• Arduino Uno board (1)
  • L298N Motor Driver (1)
  • 5V stepper motor (19
  • 2272-M4 Non-lock 4-Way Remote Control Module w/Receiving Panel (2)
  • Cables (1)
  • 5V USB cable "stolen" from the house somewhere (1)
  • Plastic case to install in after testing (1)

From my initial list and plan, any thought or improvements?

Any tips for gear and shaft kits? I had a kit from one brand before, that I can't find the name of, but very practical with standardized kit where all shafts and gears fit that you can easily supplement.

My plan was simply using a curtain rail and looped wire, as it will be hanging under a shelf, but suggestions for nicer versions or rails are very welcome!

The L298N is really old technology. There's a lot better stuff out there.