feasibility of a motorized slider

Hi guys!
Sorry for my english

I'm new to the world of Arduino, but i have an idea and i would like to know the feasibility of it.

I would like to make a "fader slider" for a homemade MIDI controller.
How can i make a "motorized" version of a fader slider so it can be either moved by my software but also by hand?

Would you use a Servo motor for this ?

Thank you

I'd just buy one. Search for "motorised fader" and you'll find loads of them.

Steve

slipstick:
I’d just buy one. Search for “motorised fader” and you’ll find loads of them.

Steve

Yes, but when you buy them, can they be moved by hand + by software input ?

Here are examples at Digikey

https://www.digikey.com/products/en/potentiometers-variable-resistors/slide-potentiometers/78?k=fader&k=&pkeyword=fader&sv=0&pv2009=377085&sf=0&FV=-8%7C78&quantity=&ColumnSort=0&page=1&stock=1&pageSize=25

(delete the extra characters the forum adds to the start and end of the link)

evanp886:

That was routinely done when I was fiddling in sound tech - 20-something years ago. No doubt modern ones can still do this.

evanp886:
How can i make a “motorized” version of a fader slider so it can be either moved by my software but also by hand?

Would you use a Servo motor for this ?

This is not an easy thing to do and a hobby servo would not be suitable because you will damage them by pushing against the gears.

A rotary system would be easier to make - you could use a small DC motor or stepper to rotate a potentiometer. Again, you would need the motor drive to have no gear system or one with very little resistance. It would be important that the motor would only be powered when it is actually required to move the potentiometer.

The problem with a slider is how to convert the motor’s rotary motion into linear motion with a minimum of resistance for manual movement. One option may be a drive belt - it could be a toothed belt but I suspect that would not be necessary.