Feasibility of Arduino to control TV lift cabinet

I've never used an Arduino before so I wanted to get a some feedback before I start ordering parts.

I'm building a TV lift cabinet. The lifting comes from a scissor lift powered by a drill. I need it to turn on when the TV turns on, drive up, stop, and reverse the current so it can come back down again when the TV turns off.

I'd be very grateful for advice on any part of that, but what I'm mostly interested in to start with is does this sound like a good application for an Arduino? I don't mind a long, torturous learning curve if I'm pretty sure there will be a payoff at the end.

My original plan was to set up a four-way switch between two limit switches, the drill, and a current sensing relay on the TV power cable. That might still be the best option, but frankly my electronics experience is only a little greater than my Arduino experience.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Yes, that's a good Arduino project!

A DPDT relay can be wired to reverse the connections (to reverse the motor). A 2nd SPST (or DPDT) relay would be needed to turn it on/off.

There is also a motor driver circuit called an "H-bridge" that's essentially wired the same as the DPDT relay. But, the H-bridge can also turn off (so you don't need a second relay/circuit for on/off) and you can control the speed with PWM (probably not important).

The disadvantage is that a drill motor requires quite a bit of current and that means a high power (more expensive) H-bridge.

If you go with relays, the Arduino can't put-out enough current to drive a relay coil so you need a driver circuit. However, there are relay boards that have both the relay and relay driver, or multiple relays and drivers.

That's exactly what I needed. Thanks.

fallincow:
I know it's been 1.5 years ago since you posted this, but I'm curious if you even did do this project?