Feasibility of project/ do I need resistors?

Hi, I’m very new to this stuff so please forgive my ignorance. I have a project in mind, but I’m not sure about the details/feasibility, so I thought it would be better to post here before I end up buying parts that aren’t compatible.

I’m planning to make the circuit I’ve attached, with 13 SK6812 LED strips (60led/meter) that are cut to 77cm each (10m, 600leds in total), 13 AM312 PIR sensors and an Elegoo Mega 2560 R3 with a 5V 60A 300W switching power supply.

I’ve done a lot of reading and I’ve gathered that the strips will need a total of 180W (18W/m * 10m) and will have a current draw of 36A (180W/5V).

I know how to calculate resistance but I don’t know how to work out which resistor I need or if I even need one at all in this circuit. Any help would be appreciated.

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the post at the start of any forum , entitled "How to use this Forum".
OR
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html.

Adafruit suggest for the Neopixel.

• Place a 300 to 500 Ohm resistor between the Arduino data output pin and the input to the first NeoPixel. The resistor should be at the end of the wire closest to the NeoPixel(s), not the microcontroller. Some products already incorporate this resistor…if you’re not sure, add one…there’s no harm in doubling up!

Tom... :slight_smile:

These strip incorporate a control chip and looking at the data sheet should be powered just from 5v, so no resistor - but check

( last page has a wiring diagram )

Think I would power separate sections ( try in two lots of 5 strips with power going to the centre one and looping outwards to the two on either side ?) radially rather than looping from one to another or the supply cable voltage drop will make the distant ones dimmer .

Hi,
Can I suggest you down size to get your project going,
Just try and control ONE strip, forget about the PIR for the moment.

This will need to be done in stages.