feasiblility of RC control panel using touch screen

hiya all,

I am new to this project design. but I learn quickly.

I am building a RC Crane and I am going to use a stepper motor to control the telescopic boom in the way the real crane does it. the mechanics of it is fine. I just need to figure out how to create the electronics.

I know what I want it to do but I am not sure how to achieve it or if it’s possible. I do a lot of 3d printing and am looking at using similar principles.

I have attached the design for one of the modes which is boom control created using inkscape. I also want to make a drive control and a stabiliser control mode. the principle input out put is based on normal Radio controlled transmitter where the above is integrated.

It will be a fully customised transmitter so dismantling and rejigging things is accepted.

Boom Control Mode:

The way the boom works on the real thing is each section is pushed out one at a time (see attached image). inside there is a single hydraulic ram that moves a hitching block that locks into a boom section, then releases the boom section from the next boom section via a locking pin. moves it up to a new position (there are 3 positions it can go to for each section) locks it into place and the hitching block unlocks from the section and retracts to the next boom section to lock into it and release it. this is then moved to the next position pushing up the previous boom section along with it etc…

so with the stepper motor I can program each boom section’s home position for pick up by the hitching block and I can also program each locking pin location so it knows where to go in order to re-lock the boom section into place.

the attached image shows three buttons for each boom section indication the three positions the section can extend to. I have also included read outs for each section and a total.