Feasiblity - Tachometer + speed meter + flow meter to LCD display

Hi!

Never did anything with Arduino before and would like some help with a project, please!

I am a computer science student, so I work mainly with software and don’t have a lot of knowledge with stuff like this.

I have to find a way of getting the output of a flow meter, a tachometer and a speed meter, do some math with all that and output a result to a LCD display.

I can handle the flow meter and LCD, but IDK about the speed meter and tachometer.

1. First of all, as I never worked with Arduino before, I want to know if this is feasible.

2. I would be using this in a car, how could I get the motor RPM and the speed of the vehicle?

3. ( image attachment). As I said, I don’t really have experience with this, what does the “at load resistance Min. 10k ohm” means? That would be the flow meter output btw.

Thanks a lot!

flowmeter.png

randombs:
what does the "at load resistance Min. 10k ohm" means?

That means if you have a lower resistance than 10K Ohms on the output pin of the sensor, the voltage will be lower.

You don't give us any other information about your application. You can't connect a 7.4V signal directly to an Arduino pin. The voltage needs to be limited to 5V or 3.3V depending on the board you are using. Can the sensor operate on the same voltage as your Arduino? If the answer is no, then you either need a level shifter or a series resistor and a zener diode.

You need to tell us something about the speed meter and tachometer signals, but the same rules apply. Don't let an Arduino pin see voltage higher than it's supply voltage.