Feeding 5V (or more?) to Arduino and friends

Hi everyone,

I'm working on a data acquisition system based around an arduino and two CD4052 multiplexers. It gives me 16 (+2) analog inputs and I'll also be using a couple of digital inputs as frequency counting.

Here's the thing : my pressure sensors require a +5V to give their very precious reading.
But it seems the +5V of a usb port is somewhat unprecise (ranging from 4,5V to 5,2V from what I measured) so I'd like to use a simple 7805 to drop down a +12V that I'll have from a battery.

Thing is : the arduino will always be connected to a PC for logging and visualization. So should I use the VIN port to give it a +5V as well and ensure that I have the right scale on the ADC of the arduino?
Also, should I feed the arduino a +7V or higher so that it does himself the regulation?

Sorry if I'm being a complete noob but I can't find what I want by searching so here I am :slight_smile:

Firstly if you supply power to the Arduino via the barrel jack or Vin then
it has an on-board 5V regulator that might be enough for your sensors
(but how much current do they need and how many are they?).

You are right, USB power is awful quality (can be better from a powered USB hub).

You have an option of feeding a reference voltage to the AREF pin and using
analogReference(EXTERNAL) too.

I agree with MarkT, using the 5V output of the Arduino board is just as good as the 7805.
You can supply 7 to 12V to the barrel jack and keep that connected.

When you want to connect it to the computer you plug in the USB. The Arduino 5V output should be stable at 5.0V.

Hello everyone,

Thanks for your help, I might go with the barrel jack then. But as soon as I plug it in, it will draw it's power from there and not the USB, right?

Also, I have 16 pressure sensors that I measured to be drawing at max 2mA so that'll be 30-40mA for these at max. Plus a couple of others but it should be in this ballpark.