Few questions about the power of the Arduino

Hey everyone,

I am kind of new to this whole microcontroller thing, but I am really keen to get into it. I was looking at the Arduino and the Ybox2, and noticed the Ybox2 has an 80MHz clock speed, whereas the Arduino has only 16MHz.

What I am trying to understand is, 1) Does the Arduino use a propellor chip, 2) If not, can you create shield which allows you to increase the clock speed of your Arduino - or adds another chip (like the propellor).

Thanks in advance!

Arduinos use an AVR chip not a Propeller.

I do believe it's possible to overclock them, but I don't know how, nor do I know how much.

I can perform something on my Arduino that would take my GHz computer slightly longer. This is because the Arduino has much less overhead. If I were to bypass the Arduino libraries and program in assembly or whatever things would go even faster.

So clock speed just tells you how many cycles it goes through per second, it's related to the speed of processing but it's not a direct relationship.

You can have an Arduino interface with anything, such as another AVR, a propeller, a PIC, etc. Even my finger through the use of a button (and, thus, indirectly with my brain). :)

Ahh, so it is possilbe to "increase" the power by adding extra shield.

Thanks a lot! I am definitely buying an Arduino :P

In round terms, the Arduino has about the same processing power as a 30 year old computer. More in tune with deciding if a light is on or off rather than deciding if that is auntie Ethel running across the car park.....

Haha :P

Thanks for all the answers, but I have another question: Is there anywhere (for the UK) I can buy the Arduino Duemilanove unassembled?

Thanks