Film Pressure Sensitive Sensors

Hi I'm very new with using arduino. So I have this project wherein I have to replace the remote system of an electric skateboard that controls its speed with a pressure system that would be placed on top of the board but my problem is that I can't find a FSR sensor(60-100kg if possible)that would be able to handle the mass of an actual person. Would you please help me with ideas on which type of sensor i could use.

Force sensors effectively measure strain. A skateboard is elastic enough for application of strain gauges. Your biggest problem will be the glue for mounting the gauges.

DrDiettrich:
Force sensors effectively measure strain. A skateboard is elastic enough for application of strain gauges. Your biggest problem will be the glue for mounting the gauges.

May you recommend me a type of strain gauges cause I'm a bit overwhelmed with the different kinds of strain gauges or load cells that pop up when I look it up in google

Get familiar with strain gauges in general, sensor bridges, amplifiers and ADC. Understand the strain caused by the driver’s movements. Then decide whether you master 2D gauges, or use 1D gauges.

"I have to replace the remote system of an electric skateboard that controls its speed with a pressure system that would be placed on top of the board"

Sounds like an unstable setup apparently using the feet balancing on the board to also control the board speed. Probably many different ways to make a foot operated throttle. Make one that noes not require the full weight of the person to operate.

zoomkat:
“I have to replace the remote system of an electric skateboard that controls its speed with a pressure system that would be placed on top of the board”

Sounds like an unstable setup apparently using the feet balancing on the board to also control the board speed. Probably many different ways to make a foot operated throttle. Make one that noes not require the full weight of the person to operate.