Final year Computer Electronical Project - Getting the right Arduino for the job

Hi, this is my first post on this forum and I am very excited!

Before I get started, some background information about the project and myself: I am a final year student at NWU Pukke in South-Africa. I am working on a Hydroponic system for rural areas together with a controller system. I am planning on using a A-Frame like structure with the Ebb & Flow method for the hydroponics, a reservoir, fishpond pump and some PVC piping.

The main purpose of the project is to provide people in rural areas with fresh and healthy vegetables. This should be done by taking into account water and electricity supply. The A-Frame Hydroponics system will be implemented inside a 1,5m Width x 1,5m Height x 2m Length greenhouse, creating a controllable environment. This is where the fun part starts…

I am planning on using an Arduino together with temperature and humidity sensors such as the DHT11/21/22 (These works well with the Arduino apparently). The greenhouse will contain two fans used as actuators controlling the temperature inside the greenhouse. The budget for the project is R 2500. This is due to the fact that it is intended for a rural area.

I am not sure which Arduino device will be perfect for this project:

• Inputs: 2 Sensors
  • Outputs: Some indicating LED’s and 2 fans

Some problems that still needs attention:
I doubt if two fans will be sufficient to control the temperature inside the greenhouse.
Power (Since it is in a rural area and my budget wont allow a solar pannel)

I will appreciate some comments or suggestions on a possible Arduino that will be able to be the brain of my project :slight_smile:

SPKloppers: I am not sure which Arduino device will be perfect for this project:

• Inputs: 2 (DHT11/21/22) Sensors
  • Outputs: Some indicating LED's and 2 fans