Final Year Project ( Security System )

Hi Folks,

I'm currently a student going into my final year and we have to do a Final Year Project (FYP) / Thesis as part of our final year. I opted to do try something with an Arduino, as my course is security based, I said I would apply it to that and try some form of security system.

I have a small bit of experience with Arduinos, we made a temperature sensor for an electrics module aswell as the basic projects to make an LED flash etc...

I'm mainly writing asking for feasibility on the ideas I have and the most appropriate boards for that task.
I know you can do things like an automatic door lock or stuff like that, all a bit too simple though.

I was thinking possibly something that may incorporate a door lock mechanism, can possibly be controlled by a phone app (Preferably Android as I have no experience coding for iPhones).
Some of the other features I was trying to pick from....

• Take a Photo of Somone when they enter a room, send a message to you of the pic.
  • As said to be controlled by App, alternatively could be done through a website
  • Preferably it would incorporate the use of WiFi or Bluetooth to add another dimension

I realize this is all slightly vague, but I am still working on ideas myself to try and make it stand out, I would be starting as soon as possible, and the project would be due some time around March/May of next year.

If it makes it easier I have experience in
Java
HTML
electronics(limited)
Some C
Cobol

Any advice / tips would be greatly appreciated and please feel free to criticize, I'm aware the boards have a limited amount of space and memory so I need to show off my skills as much as I can.

Thanks,
Darren

Hi Darren,

All that sounds like a tall order for Arduino, but Arduino could probably form part of the solution. Considered Raspberry Pi?

Paul

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the input, I figured it was quite a lot for a little Arduino to handle :sweat_smile: