Final Year University Project WiFi Recommendation

Hello fellow forumers,

I am currently a second year student studying computer science and will be, for my final year project (next year), be building a robot that maps out the WiFi signals from within a building and then uses this data to find its way around. However, I am not able to find a suitable WiFi module that is capable of connecting to a standard 802.11 wireless network and is also able to collect signal strength and MAC addresses of near by wireless access points. Is there anybody out there that could recommend me one?

Thanks a lot,
Tomas
XD

My opinion is that your reception of multiple Wifi signals will not be a viable method of determining the direction and distance from the robot to the various Wifi source signals. RF signals are just not directional enough and signal level can and does have lots of variation due to reflections, material absorption, etc. The antenna on the robot would have to be designed to be very very directional and even then I still think reflections would be a big problem.

Not to try and discourage you, but if success is part of the project goal (and final grade!) I would spend some time with using independent RF detectors and antenna design, independent of a robot to see if the signal strength and direction signals are going to be usable for the final project objectives.

Lefty

To save duplicate effort.

Which WiFi devices have you considered and found wanting?

Probably a cheap router that supports Open-Wrt or DD-WRT could handle everything.

I was looking at the WiFly module from Sparkfun

If network stumbler is open source, you might look there to modify that code and use with a netbook.

I'm with retrolefty on this one. I don't see it as a great method to do what you want -- for numerous reasons including "where the heck is the nav info".