finding the current lit up pixel

Hi all, I'm currently working with a WS2812B LED strip and the NeoPixel Arduino library and hoping to get some help with coding, as I'm pretty new to Arduino and coding in general.

I've got the LED strip and an ultrasonic (ping) sensor connected up to the Arduino Uno right now. I've got 10 pixels lit up at a time, and I want these ten pixels to move from their current location gradually along the strip to a different location depending on the output of the sensor.

So an example in layman's terms would be:

If the sensor output is between 0 and 5 cm, take the currently lit ten pixels and move them along the strip (dimming the first pixel off and the last pixel on) until the first pixel (of the ten) reaches pixel 30.

Not sure if that's clear enough, but let me know if you have questions about that. What I'm mostly trying to figure out is a.) how do I ask the Arduino to find the currently lit pixels? and b.) how can I from these currently lit 10 pixels dim the first pixel off and the last pixel on, as it moves along the strip to the next location? I'm figuring that I will have to constantly ask the Arduino which pixels are lit up until I get to the desired location (in the above example, pixel 30), will this cause too much lag?

FYI here’s the code I’m using right now. It’s not even close to what I want…still need to put some if statements in there instead of just plugging the sensor output directly into the pixel on the LED.

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
#ifdef __AVR__
 #include <avr/power.h>
#endif
#include <NewPing.h>
#define filterSamples 13
#define TRIGGER_PIN  12  // Arduino pin tied to trigger pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define ECHO_PIN     11  // Arduino pin tied to echo pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define MAX_DISTANCE 400 // Maximum distance we want to ping for (in centimeters). Maximum sensor distance is rated at 400-500cm.
#define PIN 6
Adafruit_NeoPixel strip = Adafruit_NeoPixel(60, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);