Firgelli actuator control w/ flex sensor input

Hello,

I'm relatively new to arduino and control systems and need some help with a system setup or maybe someone can answer whether it's even possible to do with an arduino. I want to use a flex sensor variable resistance input to the arduino then have the arduino output a signal to control a Firgello actuator. I know how to wire up the flex sensor with a voltage divider to the arduino but how would I control the extend/retract of the actuator? H bridge?

The end goal of this system is to have the flex sensor straight and the actuator retracted. Then as you bend the sensor it extends the actuator given a relationship between bend resistance and actuator position. Possible?

Entirely possible. It sounds to me that you're going to need a sensor to tell you the position of the actuator. Your simplest option is to purchase the actuator with the I option or R option, then the sensor and a servo controller are built in you just need to feed the servo a control signal. If you do decide to purchase a basic actuator without controller, then an H-bridge would be an appropriate means to drive it.

Quad450x: Hello,

I'm relatively new to arduino and control systems and need some help with a system setup or maybe someone can answer whether it's even possible to do with an arduino. I want to use a flex sensor variable resistance input to the arduino then have the arduino output a signal to control a Firgello actuator. I know how to wire up the flex sensor with a voltage divider to the arduino but how would I control the extend/retract of the actuator? H bridge?

The end goal of this system is to have the flex sensor straight and the actuator retracted. Then as you bend the sensor it extends the actuator given a relationship between bend resistance and actuator position. Possible?