Firmata - can't live with it, can't live without it

Hi,

I’m fairly new to the Arduino. I have a Neopixel WS2812b strip that works nicely with the Arduino, the Fastled DemoReel100 is AWESOME and I’m getting a grasp on how to program the strip myself.

But my plan is to input simple digital data from Ableton to the Arduino using the Max for Live Arduino connection kit, and use that data to trigger different ledstrip patterns. I have had some success with this: I can load the StandardFirmata on the Arduino, run the Ableton M4L Arduino connector and switch on and off a single Led connected to digital pin 13. By assigning pin 13 in the Ableton device to a macro I can make the led flash every time the kick drum of a dance track plays - which is very cool :slight_smile:

But I seem to be in an either/or situation with the Firmata script running in the Arduino. I need to combine the StandardFirmata functions with Neopixel-type scripts, but I don’t really understand (other than at a general level) what StandardFirmata is doing. I suspect that some/most of the StandardFormata code isn’t required for just writing digital on/offs to Arduino pins - I need to know what is essential for my purpose and what isn’t.

All my attempts to write a custom sketch that will receive info from the Ableton Max Arduino device and trigger either the LED strip or just an Led stuck directly into a pin and ground have failed. The Ableton device so far only works when StandardFirmata is installed.
Example modified from an “LED ushbutton” sketch of the kind of thing I’m trying (but which doesn’t work):

#include <FastLED.h>    //tells it to use the FastLED library, always use this.
#define NUM_LEDS 150    // Creates variable NUM_LEDS to equal 150, always use this. 
#define DATA_PIN 6      // Which data pin, always use this.

CRGBArray<NUM_LEDS> leds;    //creates an array in memory of 150 leds called "leds",  always use this. 

// digital pin 2 has a pushbutton attached to it. Give it a name: