Firmata

Hi:

Unfortunately I'm new to this and most of the things written here assume previous knowledge I don't have.

I need help with this:

I'm trying to use Firmata. The installation reads this:

"1.Unzip the library and copy the "arduino" folder into the "libraries" sub-folder of your Processing Sketchbook."

Where is this "libraries subfolder of my processing sketch book"?

I already have Processing installed.

Also:

"(You can find the location of your Sketchbook by opening the Processing Preferences" Where are those Processing Preferences? How do I do that?

Also:

"If you haven't made a "libraries" sub-folder, create one.) " Really? Where? how?

Sorry; but I need help Thanks

The installation reads this:

A link would be a lot more useful. We don't know from what you quoted whether the source is reliable or not. I'd say not from what you posted.

"(You can find the location of your Sketchbook by opening the Processing Preferences"

Should say "using File + Preferences".

"If you haven't made a "libraries" sub-folder, create one.) " Really? Where? how?

Yes. Where you are supposed to. Give me a break. Do you really need to be told how to create a folder? If so, what OS?

Hi:

Thanks. I alreay found how to find preferences and the location and created the folder libraries. Of course, I know how to create a folder, what i did not know was where.

I did all that and pasted the arduino folder into the libraries subfolder I created in my sketchbook folder.

Thanks, Adrian

Here is where I'm reading: http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Interfacing/Processing Thanks, Adrian

I did all that and pasted the arduino folder into the libraries subfolder I created in my sketchbook folder.

And? Are you now able to operate the Arduino from Processing?

Hi:

Unfortunately not. When trying to run the Processing sketch from here (http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Interfacing/Processing) I'm getting an error message at the bottom saying: