First PCB design - Schematic Check

Hi all,

I’ve been working on this project for some time now, and I’ve decided the best way to wrap this up is to have a PCB built to “package” this into a usable item.

Background:
This is for an arduino uno r3 controlled water filter for my saltwater aquarium. Basically, I have 4- 12v solenoid valves that will control water flow. The first will control the water input valve, the second will control the fast flush feature (runs for a few minutes before switching over to clean water output), and the final two will control topping off my two containers when they are low. I also have two float valves in each container (low and high levels) that work with the arduino code to automate the process.

Since this is my first time designing a board, I’d love if anyone can comment on my schematics to ensure I’m not missing anything. Eagle is pretty easy to work with overall, but the component choices are what intimidates me the most. Hopefully I’ve made the right choices.

My first go was not using the optocouplers. I may be able to get by without those, and would be willing to do so if that would be better. I added them in place of flyback diodes, which I didn’t originally realize were necessary when using a solenoid.

I’d be more than happy to post the eagle files if someone would be willing to check them out. Otherwise, the PDF schematic is attached…

RODIControllerSchematic_New.pdf (16.3 KB)

You need series diodes for the LEDs in the opto cct. D2-5.
You should add kickback diodes on all DC solenoids.

Edit:
Breadboard one cct. to make sure it will work as you expect.

edit - missed your comment about 2 switches in each of the 2 containers, though have you got the internal pull up resistors on , if not you need something like a 10K pull up resistor on each line.