First Project- Automated Fireworks

Hello Arduino community.

For the Fourth of July this year, I thought I would program my arduino uno to ignite fireworks for me with music playing. I have a basic plan, but as this is my first project, I would love guidance!

Each firework will have its own igniter made from steel wool. Wires will run back to the arduino and a battery in a fireproof box. All of the igniters will be connected to relays which are then triggered through shift registers connected to the arduino.

Can anyone foresee problems with this? I am beginning to work on building igniters and testing the ignition system, I will come back for more guidance if I run into any problems.

Can anyone foresee problems with this?

A visit from Homeland Security?

BTW, this is your second project http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=151350.msg1136417#msg1136417

It sounds like a fun project, but if your goal is to light the fireworks rather than play with electronics then I wonder whether the electronic solution is worthwhile. Isn't the traditional approach just a line of nails with wires wrapped around them? Unless you're going to calculate the burn time of each individual fuse, I doubt there's much point trying to be more precise about the timing than just lighting them at regular intervals, which you can do with a nail board without any cost, complexity or worries about whether it's actually going to work on the night.

mikechaf: Can anyone foresee problems with this?

Final testing? (Unless you plan to use more than one set of fireworks.)