First project help please

I am pretty new to Arduino. For my first project I would like to control a motor with 2 switches. Imagine a motor with paddles that push marbles into a funnel attached to the top of a tube. I want the motor to run until the tube is full, then stay off until the level falls to a certain level. Similar to an automatic water tank fill.

Tube full = top and bottom switches both pushed = motor off
Tube partial full = top switch not pushed, bottom switch pushed = motor off
Tube empty= neither switch pushed = motor on

I know this is possible, but I’m not sure exactly how to do it. I’ve written a sketch(my first attempt), but I’m fairly certain it is completely messed up and won’t work. It compiles just fine and everything, but it seems over-complicated. Is anyone willing to look it over for me? I attached the .ino file just in case.

Thanks in advance for looking it over!

Case_Feeder.ino (4.8 KB)

Tube partial full = top switch not pushed, bottom switch pushed = motor off

That will turn off the motor as soon as the bottom switch is activated. Leave that rule out if you want the tube to fill before stopping the motor.

So what you want to do is:

if (not bottomSwitch) // Level has gotten low. motorOn(true); // Start filling

if (topSwitch) // Level has gotten high motorOn(false); // Stop filling

Is that enough to get you started on the programming?

//Variables will change:
int SW1state = digitalRead(SW1);         // Intitial top switch position
int SW2state = digitalRead(SW2);         // Intitial bottom switch position
int LED1state = digitalRead(LED1);       // Current LED1 state
int LED2state = digitalRead(LED2);       // Current LED2 state
int MOTOR1state = digitalRead(MOTOR1);   // Current MOTOR state

Do the initialisation of the variables in "setup() after you've set the pinMode for the pin.