First Project - Servo/Motor Rotation & Reset

Hi folks,

I won't sugar coat it. I am new to this game. However, I'm excited to learn and share. Some background on me;

-Graduated from Electronics Engineering Technician - Digital. -Taught myself HTML, CSS and a bit of JavaScript. -I enjoy tinkering with basic electronics.

For my first project I am trying to make a modification to a pinball machine. I want to take a model F-14 jet that has collapsible wings and incorporated in onto the playfield. Here's the very basics of the mod I want to make;

The Project Basics 1) Initially, the F-14 will have it's wings open. 2) When multiball is ready/running , the F-14 will have wings closed. 3) When multiball has finished, the F-14 will go back to it's initial state with wings open.

To do this, I think the easiest way will be to use a motor or servo. I'll connect the motor/servo mechanically to the wings of the jet to control the open/close movements.

How it should work 1) When multiball is ready specific lamps on the playfield become lit. My plan is to tap into these lamps to power the circuit. 2) When the circuit is provided power (or there is an increase in current) I need the motor/server to rotate 45 degrees (give or take). 3) When the circuit loses power (or there is a decrease in current) I need the motor/server to return to it's start position.

That's the entire mod. It sounds simple, but I don't know if it really is. I've checked out a few video's on how to move a servo, but haven't found any that explain how to reset the servo to starting positions. I think this mod is very possible to do, i just need help.

So I need your thoughts. Is this possible? Would you use a servo or a motor? Am I crazy? :)