First time here and new to arduino need advice please

Hi I am new at all this even if I am 55 I have 2 projects I want to build would love to do then in one unit if possible.
First one is a stepper motor controlled focusing rail (for photo stacking ) I know it has been done before just can not find instructions.
The other is the camera axe I have found that here is my problem cash is very tight if I can build both units together it will help. I can figure out the program if I have to I have been off work for 2 years now with I'll health (very bad depression) so time not a problem. But can only afford to buy the bits once I have a nema 17 stepper motor. If some one has time could they give me a list of what to buy and the best place to get it from please also any links or advice on circuit diagrams would be so helpful.also I know it's a lot to ask but if some one wants to take me under there wing and guide me I would be ever so great full.I just need to get my life back on track and able to think again.
Albert :blush:

with tight budgets it is allways worth to check electronic scrapheaps, for anything usefull. Everything not need to be bought saves money.
Ask family and friends for unused devices, toys etc.

Where are you from? (country?) as Albert is quite international? Maybe you can join a local Arduino group?

First off Albert, Welcome to your new addiction, Arduino.. you've already got the photography bug I see :wink:

First and foremost, take a moment and read this.. it's a post of mine from earlier this year:
Arduino as a form of Therapy

I'm a disabled former programmer, and find that my hobbies (which happen to include photography and Arduino) are key in keeping my sanity. Let me tell you, I'm no stranger to what you are trying to cope with.. and keeping your mind active is the single best treatment in the world.