First time programming and using arduino need help

I got the arduino uno a while back and i just now decided to use it, I searched a project online and decided to do the recycled robotic arm (https://www.hackster.io/circuito-io-team/robotic-arm-from-recycled-materials-7e318a) and i ordered all the parts and installed the existed code (I think) but nothing works. when i unplug and plug back in the servo motors twitch a little bit like there is a connection so i know thats not the problem, and also when I open serial monitor and test out the servo motors and joystick everything works. Once again im new to all this so its probably a simple mistake

How many motors and how are you powering them?

3 motors and a 9 volt battery, they run fine when I test them in serial monitor so I don’t think its either of those being the problem

Uuwotm8: when i unplug and plug back in the servo motors twitch a little bit like there is a connection so i know thats not the problem, and also when I open serial monitor and test out the servo motors and joystick everything works. Once again im new to all this so its probably a simple mistake

What exactly is serial monitor showing you? What exactly works with the joystick? A 9v battery is not capable of powering 3 motors. Are you connecting your ground together from the motors, joystick, board? Can you supply a sketch, your code, what the serial monitor is showing? What kind of motors? What're the voltage/current specs for them? I would say you're not powering them effectively.

Hackster: SparkFun Wall Adapter Power Supply - 12VDC 600mA

Right there on the first page.

Also, show your code.

MorganS: Right there on the first page.

Also, show your code.

But yet, he/she said a 9V battery?