(Fixed) Uno stopped working after GRBL flash

Hello All.

I am completely new to the Arduino. However I was having fun learning and having small amounts of success with writing sketches. I originally got the Uno for a CNC project. I expect it could take me a year to learn enough to get it running. That said, I have had a set back.

After running a stepper motor with the sample MIT sketch I read about what is needed to get three steppers to digest g-code. I tried to flash GRBL.hex to my uno. I was following the instructions here https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Flashing-Grbl-to-an-Arduino. I got to 98% then it had stopped. Now I am unable to send sketches or continue on. Getting "avrdude: usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device "usb" when I try to burn boot loader. Getting "avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding" If I re try the GRBL flash. I am not sure where to go from here. I read whatever I could find here on the forum. From holding down the reset button while initializing a sketch send to ordering http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200956456654&ssPageName=ADME:L:OC:US:3160 tools to try another burn method?.

I guess my question is in what direction can you point me to find a solution for my now defunct Uno? I appreciate your patience with me as I am just starting out. I am thinking I need it back to basics before I can determine why the GRBL flash failed.

Potentially helpful information: Uno Rev3 w/ DIP ATmega328P from Amazon, think its a knockoff after a read a post here. OS X 10.8.5 Arduino 1.0.5

Thank you, Christian

I was looking at the issue you posted and found a link that says version 0.6 of grbl has an issue and that its unstable. It recommends version 0.7 as a standard that works or 0.8 that's in beta as of 07/01/2012 now that's old but maybe its more info to help.