[FIXED] Uno Tx light stuck on, board unresponsive

I just want to post this as I searched all over the place and couldn't find a solution that worked until I figured it out for myself, hopefully it'll help anyone else who lands in the same mess. I'm a horrendous noob to all this so apologies if I missed something obvious, apparently there's a semi-known issue with these boards becoming non-responsive if serial.write(); or similar functions go nuts.

Gear:
Arduino Uno
Ubuntu 10.10

Symptoms:

• Shortly after power-up, Tx light flashed a few times, then went solid.
  • Serial monitor spewed out a constant stream of 3-digit numbers around the 190-205 range.
  • Reset button became non-responsive.
  • Attempt to upload a new sketch resulted in "protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x00"
  • Uploader lost the USB port (ttyACM0) and become incredibly sluggish, this cleared up instantly when I disconnected the USB cable.

If board was connected with reset button held down, ttyACM0 became visible momentarily and Rx light flashed before all the above symptoms kicked in again. Apparently this board listens for new instructions for 1 second after power-up regardless of the sketch, or something like that? Still, I couldn't upload the sketch I was working on (servo tutorial, CIRC-04 I think).

Fix:

• Created the smallest valid sketch I could think of on the spot:
void setup {}
void loop {delay(9999);}
  • Connected board with the reset button down as above, kept hitting reset button every half-second with one hand while ensuring that uploader was set to ttyACM0 with the other.
  • Hit Upload and stopped resetting.
  • Tiny sketch uploaded successfully before the board had a chance to spack out again.
  • Emphatic fist pump of victory and a quiet but heartfelt "booya!"