"Flame sensor" connection

Hello all,
I'm new to Arduino and inexperienced in electronics.

I want to connect a flame sensor to an analog pin of the UNO and just measure the values in the 0-1023 range. I am using a 10K resistor. I don't know the sensor's exact model, but it looks similar to the one here:
http://www.elecrow.com/sensors-c-111/physical-monitor-c-111_125/flame-sensor-p-668.html

I have a couple of questions:

1. The instructions provided to me illustrate the same diagram as the one shown in the site above. Shouldn't the sensor instead be placed upside down (the "anode" connected to Vcc and the "cathode" to GND/analog input via a resistor as shown eg here: How the Phototransistor Circuit Works | LEARN.PARALLAX.COM )?
  2. When my analog pin is unconnected it gives a floating value of around 330. When I connect it to my flame sensor circuit it's values are fluctuating between 250 and 450 but with no apparent reason. Neither light nor a source of flame changes it in a definite way. This happens even if I connect the sensor upside down.

I suspect that my sensor is damaged.

Does anybody have an idea of what's may be going on?
Thank you

1 )
Both schematics are correct.
A phototransistor is used that way.
But a IR photodiode is used in reverse (blocking) to sense IR waves.
I think that is called "reverse bias".

2 )
There can be so many things, the sensor might still work.
Do you use a breadboard ? those can have bad contact.
Can you try another analog input ?
Perhaps you don't have the flame sensor, but perhaps something else like a IR led. Or your sketch might be wrong.
It is hard to say what to do without knowing the type of sensor.

Thanx a lot, that gave me something to look into :slight_smile:
I use a breadboard and have tried different holes and different analog inputs, too, but the results are the same: fluctuating analog readings that don't seem to be related to light (in fact they fluctuate like a "wave").