Flash memory

I have no experience of using flash memory!

In my project of a greenhouse controller it is necessary to set-up the controller on startup with preferred values. If for some reason the power supply fails, these values are lost and the controller has to be setup all over again which can be a big problem as values are sometimes developed over an extended period.

So, what about using flash memory to store these values? Pointers please.

So, what about using flash memory to store these values?

Flash memory is read-only at run time.

EEPROM is writable. Unless you have a Due, which doesn't have EEPROM.

You can but it will become tricky if you want to change them.

How about storing in EEPROM?

Are you confusing flash memory with EEPROM? EEPROM is usually where those type of values would be stored. The EEPROM library that comes with the IDE has example code.

If you do have a Due, there are many I2C or SPI EEPROMs available.

I have no experience in the use of memory. It will be necessary for the stored data to be editable while the controller is running and for it to be retained if the power supply fails. I don't know what type the memory should be, and I only have the faintest knowledge of using EEPROM.

I would prefer to use a Nano.

Thanks groundFungus - I was not quite aware that a Nano would have its own EEPROM. I'm off in that direction now!

https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/EEPROM

EEPROM is easy to use and the values that you want to keep can be easily changed and written to the EEPROM when the sketch is running. Be aware that the EEPROM has a limit to the number of writes (not so with read).

To add to what groundFungus said, do NOT perform continuous updates to EEPROM in loop.

I update variables stored in EEPROM with some simple Serial commands, either thru the hyperterminal or through another program I built in VB.net on my PC.

Ed