Flickering LCD

Hi, I have a sensor returning it’s result to an LCD display with a small speaker driven off my Mega. As the level increases a Bar-graph is produced on a 16x2 and the tone of the speaker rises.

It all works but the LCD flickers and changes with the sensor return (I’m using a 10k pot to simulate at the moment).

If I remove the ‘clear LCD’ command the display does not flicker, but the the text from line 1 (or is it 0?) “sensor level” scrolls into line 2 as the bar-graph drops.

I’m very new to this so am a bit stuck with what is probably a simple error I’ve made :blush:

This is my code…

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7);
int LCDval;

void setup(){ 
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
   Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.print("Sensor Level");
  int value = analogRead(15);
  lcd.setCursor(15,0);
  //lcd.print(value);//
  lcd.setCursor(0,1);
  LCDval = value / 51.15;
  for(int i = 0; i < LCDval; i++) {
    lcd.write(255);
  }
  delay(1);

// read the sensor:
  int sensorReading = analogRead(15);
  // print the sensor reading so you know its range
  Serial.println(sensorReading);
  // map the analog input range (in this case, 400 - 1000 from the photoresistor)
  // to the output pitch range (120 - 1500Hz)
  // change the minimum and maximum input numbers below
  // depending on the range your sensor's giving:
  int thisPitch = map(sensorReading, 400, 1000, 120, 1500);

// play the pitch:
  tone(40, thisPitch, 10);
  delay(5);        // delay in between reads for stability
}

The output from analogRead() ranges from 0 to 1023. Dividing that value by 51.15 results in a value between 0 and 20.

How are you displaying 20 characters on one row of a 16x2 LCD?

PaulS: The output from analogRead() ranges from 0 to 1023. Dividing that value by 51.15 results in a value between 0 and 20.

How are you displaying 20 characters on one row of a 16x2 LCD?

Good point and cheers! XD