Flickering when using 3 595 shift registers

(moved from wrong secition)

Hi,

I'm using the dual shift register circuit on the ShiftOut document on the arduino.cc site but with a third shift register added as well. I have these wired up to 24 LEDs for testing purposes. This all works fine and I can turn on the correct output pins and light the LEDs. What I have found is that I'm getting flicker on the unlit LEDs. Is this a standard problem when using shift registers? Is there something I can do to solve/reduce the flicker?

Thanks

Obviously I'll post code/circuits if necessary but I wanted to know whether this was something that's often seen - I'm new to shift registers.

I've noticed that this is only occurring on the 3rd shift register. Is there a problem when you chain more together?

Please post your wiring diagram of pics. Are you wiring the Q7 of the first to serial in on number 2, Q7 on number two to the serial in on number 3?

You may want to go with SPI if you start getting into more shift registers.

See this post for details on running SPI with those chips.
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1278251011

I'd be interested to know if this code works for you.

Hi,

It's exactly the same as the bottom picture here:

http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut but with the extra register and I've made exactly same connections from 2->3 as were made from 1->2 (ie yes I've gone from Q7 to the serial in on 3). It is all working fine except for this odd flicker.

This post seems to indicate there's something wrong with the tutorial, could that be it?

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1276017854/7

Ok, I wread on that page a little, and it says you should add a capacitor over the power lines. I would use a little 0.1uF capacitor over the positive (VCC) and negative (GND) power wires of each chip.

Ok, thanks. I'll give that a try tonight.