float sensor+arduino

how to connect float sensor with arduino uno to make digital fuel meter.plz give circuit diagram…float sensor comes normally in every bikes.

actually my project is to measure the amount of fuel in fuel tank.please i am new to arduino

Does this sensor normally drive an analog meter?

Such sensors generally have a resistance which varies with the position of the float.

Do you have a test meter?

If so, measure the it's resistance in ohms at each end of it's travel

and let me know what you find.

I googled CH-055, and got chainsaws - not much help!

regards

Allan.

MOELLER Electric Fuel Gauge Sending Units These sending units fit the industry-standard bolt-hole pattern and 240-33 Ohm gauges. Internal measurement components will not rust or corrode.

So, the sender is expecting a resistive gauge. If you intend on using with an existing gauge, you will need to "pull-off" from the sender-meter connection and use a high-value resistor divider to scale the voltage for the Arduino Ax input. I would probably use a 10K linear potentiometer with the wiper going to A0.

If however you are going to use without a fuel gauge, you need to supply a low value resistor to take the place of the meter. Maybe 100 Ohm. But, a 200 Ohm rheostat could be used to fine tune things.

Ray

thnx for reply.but i m totally non electronic person and i dont have meter to measure the resistance.please tell me some easy steps...here the link of video that exactlly i want to make using arduino uno https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWrfEges1_E

Looking at the video the readout is via the serial monitor feature of the arduino IDE.

This is straightforward.

I append a circuit to drive an anlog input of the arduino. Read that value with analogRead, scale it
( meaure with tank empty and full as your end points) and send to the IDE with Serial.print

regards

Allan

ps note that the value depends on that of the 12v supply. If the bike is running the 12v will be higher.